Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Forgot login details?

For free!
Get started!

Text page

Text page

Civil Disobedience Movement :
The Civil Disobedience Movement of 1930-31 marked a critically important stage in the progress of the anti-imperialist struggle. Gandhi launched Civil Disobedience Movement by organising the Dandi March with a view to break the salt law. Organisation of country-wide demonstrations and hartals, boycott of the foreign goods and refusal to pay taxes were stages of Civil Disobedience Movement. As a result of Gandhi - Irwin Pact of 1931, Congress agreed to withdraw the Civil Disobedience Movement and took part in the Round Table Conference. Bardoli Satyagraha : In Gujarat, a conflict developed between the peasantry and the Government. The Government attempted to increase revenue, Vallabhbhai Patel took up the cause of the peasants and the struggle was known as the Bardoli Satyagraha. The Struggle met with success and Vallabhbhai Patel came to be called Sardar.
Quit India Movement :
In 1942, the Congress decided to launch the Quit India Movement with a view to compel the British Government to offer more favourable terms.
Cabinet Mission :
The Cabinet Mission came to India to evolve a consensus on the constitutional question. In 1945, when Mr. Atlee of the Labour Party became the Prime Minister of Britain, he took a realistic view for the fulfilment of India’s dream for freedom.
Mountbatten Plan :
The Mountbatten Plan of June 3, 1947 contained a solution for the political and constitutional deadlock created by teh refusal for the Muslim League to join the Constituent Assembly, formed to frame the Constitution of India. It laid down detailed principles for the partition of India and the speedy transfer of political power in the form of Dominion Status to the newly born Dominions of India and Pakistan. A Bill containing the main provisions of the Mountbatten Plan of June 3, 1947 was introduced in the British Parliament and passed as the Indian Independence Act of 1947. Lord Atlee was the Prime Minister of England when India got Independence. India thus obtained Independence on the 15th of August 1947 and became a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic and Republic State on the 26th January 1950.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat