Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Mobile Blog

NBC bans hit songs from D’banj, Wizkid, Davido, 23 others Dec 7th, 2013

08.12.2013 13:40 EST
The Nigerian Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has reportedly placed a ban on 25 of your favourite songs including hits from D’banj, Wizkid, Davido, Olamide and Timaya. The commission allegedly sent out a circular to media houses this week. On December 6, 2013, on-air-personality Gbemi Olateru-Olagbegi named a list of affected songs stating that NBC placed the ban on them because they contain ‘obscene lyrics or visuals’. The ban also extends to a number of foreign songs including Rihanna‘s ‘Pour it up‘, Kelly Rowland‘s ‘Ice‘, Miley Cyrus‘ ‘Wrecking ball‘, 2chainz‘s ‘Birthday‘ and Dubai singer Ash Hamman‘s ‘Thirsty for you’. Earlier in the year, the NBC banned eight videos claiming their contents were not suitable for broadcast. NET has reached out to the commission but is yet to get a response. Check out the full list of newly banned songs. ‘Voom Va’ by Skuki ‘Ngelele Dance’ by Baby Rhymz ‘Birthday’ by 2chainz ‘Jack Sparrow’ by Rayce ‘Your Number’ by Ayo Jay ‘Caro’ by Wizkid ‘Wrecking ball’ by Miley Cyrus ‘Thirsty for you’ by Ash Hamman ‘Pour It Up’ by Rihanna ‘Ukwu’ by Timaya ‘Coupe Dekale’ by Minjin ‘Oluwa loni disco’ by Quest ‘Kosere’ by LNC ‘Stupid Love’ by Olamide ‘Tony Montana’ by D’banj ‘Ghost mode’ by Phyno ‘Gobe’ by Davido ‘Afefe’ by Dr Sid ‘The Matter’ by Maleek Berry, ‘Voice of the street’ by Olamide ‘Paper Remix’ by Sheyman ‘Nawti’ by Olu Maintain ‘Sunmomi’ by Shaydee, ‘Ice’ by Kelly Rowland ‘Sexy Ladies’ by Timaya

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat