Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Multimedia gallery

lok sabha elections results map - Newest pictures

Lok Sabha Elections 2014 Results

लोकसभा चुनाव २०१४ के परिणाम

543 seats in the Lok Sabha
272 seats needed for a Majority

Voter Turnout 66.38%

Narendra Modi
Rahul Gandhi

Bharatiya Janata Party
Indian National Congress

Official Colours
BJP - Saffron
INC - Aqua

National Democratic Alliance
United Progressive Alliance

Leader's seat
Narendra Modi - Vadodara & Varanasi
Rahul Gandhi - Amethi

Last Election
NDA - 159 Seats (24.63%)
UPA - 262 Seats (37.22%)

Seats won
NDA - 336
UPA - 59

Seat change
NDA Seats Increase 177
UPA Seats Decrease 203

Popular vote 171,459,286 106,760,001

Percentage 31.1% 19.4%

Swing Increase6.47% Decrease17.82%

Prime Minister before election
Manmohan Singh

Prime Minister designate
Narendra Modi

The Indian general election of 2014 was held to constitute the 16th Lok Sabha, electing members of parliament to all 543 parliamentary constituencies of India. Running in nine phases from 7 April to 12 May 2014, this was the longest election in the country's history. According to the Election Commission of India, 814.5 million people were eligible to vote, with an increase of 100 million new voters since the last general election in 2009, making this the largest-ever election in the world. A total of 8,251 candidates contested for the 543 Lok Sabha seats. The average election turnout over all nine phases was around 66.38%, the highest ever in the history of Indian general elections.
The result of election was declared on 16 May, fifteen days before the 15th Lok Sabha completes its constitutional mandate on 31 May 2014. The counting exercise was held at 989 counting centres. The National Democratic Alliance emerged as the majority coalition, winning 336 seats and the Bharatiya Janata Party as the single largest party winning 282 seats. The United Progressive Alliance won 59 seats, and the Congress, 44.

BJP & NDA's Historic Victory ever in the Lok Sabha Elections 2014
INC & UPA's Worst Defeat ever in the Lok Sabha Elections 2014

NDA ...

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat