Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page





65. Establishment of Parliament
(1) There shall be a Parliament for Bangladesh (to be known as the House of the Nation) in which subject to the provisions of this Constitution, shall be vested the legislative powers of the Republic:

Provided that nothing in this clause shall prevent Parliament from delegating to any person or authority, by Act of Parliament, power to make orders, rules, regulations, bye-laws or other instruments having legislative effect.
(2) Parliament shall consist of three hundred members to be elected in accordance with law from single territorial constituencies by direct election and, for so long as clause (3) is effective, the members provided for in that clause; the member shall be designated as Members of Parliament.

30[(3) Until the dissolution of Parliament occurring next after the expiration of the period of ten years beginning from the date of the first meeting of the Parliament next after the Parliament in existence at the time of the commencement of the Constitution (Fourteenth Amendment) Act, 2004, there shall be reserved forty five seats exclusively for women members and they will be elected by the aforesaid members in accordance with law on the basis of procedure of proportional representation in the Parliament through single transferable vote :

Provided that nothing in this clause shall be deemed to prevent a woman from being elected to any of the seats provided for in clause (2) of this article.

(4) The seat of Parliament shall be in the capital.

66. Qualifications and disqualifications for election to Parliament
(1) A person shall subject to the provisions of clause (2), be qualified to be elected as, and to be, a member of Parliament if he is a citizen of Bangladesh and has attained the age of twenty-five years.

(2) A person shall be disqualified for election as, or for being, a member of Parliament who-

(a) is declared by a competent court to be of unsound mind;
(b) is an undercharged insolvent;
(c) acquires the citizenship of, or affirms of acknowledges allegiance to, a foreign state;
(d) has been, on conviction for a criminal offence involving moral turpitude, sentenced to imprisonment for a term of not less than two years unless a period of five years has elapsed since his release; 31 *
32[(dd) holds any office of profit in this service of the Republic other than an office which is declared by law not to disqualify its holders; or]
33* * * * * *
34* * * * * *
(g) is disqualified for such election by or under any law.

35[(2A) For the purposes of this article a person shall not be deemed to hold an office of profit in the service of the Republic by reason only that 36[he is a President, 37 * Prime Minister], 38* * * Minister, Minister of State or Deputy Minister.]

39* * * * * *
(4) If any dispute arises as to whether a member of Parliament has, after his election, become subject to any of the disqualifications mentioned in clause (2) or as to whether a member of Parliament should vacate his seat pursuant to article 70, the dispute shall be referred to the Election Commission to hear and determine it and the decision of the Commission on such reference shall be final.

(5) Parliament may, by law, make such provision as it deems necessary for empowering the Election Commission to give full effect to the provisions of clause (4).

67. Vacation of seats of members
(1) A member of Parliament shall vacate his seat-

(a) if he fails, within the period of ninety days from the date of the first meeting of Parliament after his election, to make and subscribe 40* * the oath or affirmation prescribed for a member of Parliament in the Third Schedule: Provided that the Speaker may, before the expiration of that period, for good cause extend it;
(b) if he is absent from Parliament, without the leave of Parliament, for ninety consecutive sitting days;
(c) upon a dissolution of Parliament;
(d) if he has incurred a disqualification under clause (2) of article 66; or
(e) in the circumstances specified in article 70.

(2) A member of Parliament may resign his seat by writing under his hand addressed to the Speaker, and the seat shall become vacant when the writing is received by the Speaker or, if the office of Speaker is vacant or the Speaker is for any reason unable to perform his functions, by the Deputy Speaker.

68. Remuneration, etc., of members of Parliament
Members of Parliament shall be entitled to such 41[remuneration], allowances and privileges as may be determined by Act of Parliament or, until so determined, by order made by the President.

69. Penalty for member sitting or voting before taking oath
If a person sits or votes as a member of Parliament before he makes or subscribes the oath or affirmation in accordance with this Constitution, or when he knows that he is not qualified or is disqualified for membership thereof, he shall be liable in respect of each day on which he so sits or votes to a penalty of one thousand taka to be recovered as a debt due to the Republic.

42[70. Vacation of seat on resignation, etc.
(1) A person elected as a member of Parliament at an election at which he was nominated as a candidate by a political party shall vacate his seat if he resigns from that party or votes in Parliament against the party. Explanation. - If a member of Parliament-

(a) being present in Parliament abstains from voting, or

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat