Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

The Judicial system

The task of the judiciary is to decide on the rights and duties of citizens, and charges brought against them. All courts in the Republic of Slovenia are regular courts, and act in accordance with the principles of constitutionality, independence and the rule of law. The unified system of courts consists of courts with general and specialised jurisdiction. Courts with general jurisdiction include 44 district, 11 regional, and 4 higher courts, and the Supreme Court, while specialised courts comprise 4 labour courts and a social court (they rule on labour-related and social insurance disputes), and the Administrative Court, which provides legal protection in administrative affairs and has the status of a higher court. The state prosecution holds a special place in the justice system, as it is an independent state authority, but also part of the executive branch of power. The General State Prosecutor is appointed by the National Assembly.

The Constitutional Court

The Constitutional Court is the highest authority with regard to the protection of constitutionality, legality, human rights and basic freedoms. It may act as a negative legislature and abrogate an act or part of an act. Constitutional Judges are appointed by the National Assembly following nominations from the President of the Republic. Nine judges are elected for a period of nine years, with no possibility of a further term. The offices of constitutional judge and judges of specialised and general courts are incompatible with other offices in state bodies.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat