Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

arunachal pradesh thumb - Newest pictures

∆Indian State Arunachal Pradesh∆

About Arunachal Pradesh
Arunachal Pradesh, bordered on the south by Assam, on the west by Bhutan, on the north and northeast by China, and on the east by Myanmar (formerly known as Burma) is a sparsely populated mountainous area in the extreme northeastern part of the subcontinent. Arunachal Pradesh (Sanskrit for "Land of the Rising Sun") has an area of 83,743 sq km.
Most of Arunachal Pradesh is mountainous. Its terrain consists of lofty, haphazardly aligned ridges that separate deep valleys and rise to the peaks of the Great Himalayas.
The state's main rivers are the Brahmaputra known in Arunachal Pradesh as the Siang, and its tributaries, the Tirap, the Lohit (Zayu Qu), the Subansiri, and the Bhareli. The climate of the foothills is subtropical; in the mountains, temperatures decrease rapidly with altitude. Rainfall averages between 2000 and 4000 mm (80 and 160 in) a year.
Arunachal Pradesh has a single-chamber Legislative Assembly, which has 60 seats. The state sends three members to the Indian national parliament: one to the Rajya Sabha (upper house) and two to the Lok Sabha (lower house). Local government is based on 12 administrative districts.
The region that is now Arunachal Pradesh is mentioned in the Puranas (Sanskrit writings about the beginning of the world), but little else is known of the state's early history. Part of Arunachal Pradesh was annexed by the Ahom kings of Assamin the 16th century.
In 1826 Assam became part of British India, but efforts to bring Arunachal Pradesh under British administration did not begin until the 1880s. In 1912 the region became an administrative unit within Assam, called the North Eastern Frontier Tract (NEFT); in 1954 the NEFT became the North East Frontier Agency. Its northern boundary with Tibet has been disputed since 1913, when China rejected British proposals that the border should follow the crest of the Himalayas. This proposed border, known as the McMahon line, has ever since served as the de facto boundary. After the independence of India in 1947, China made claims to practically the whole area covered by the districts of East and West Kameng, Lower and Upper Subansiri, East and West Siang, and Lohit, arguing that the McMahon Line had never been accepted by China and was the result of British "aggression."
Arunachal Pradesh - Facts
Below is a table representing the important facts about Arunachal Pradesh
Facts on Arunachal Pradesh
Date of
FormationFeb 20, 1987
Size83,743 sq km
RiversSiang and its Tribhutaries: Lohit, Kameg, Dikrong, Tirap, Dibang, Subansiri, Noa Dihing, Kamlang
Forests &
National ParkNamdapha NP, Monling NP
LanguagesMonpa, Miji, Aka, Sherdukpen, Apatani, Adi, Hill Miri
Neighbours StateAsom, Nagaland
State AnimalMithun
State BirdGreat Indian Hornbill
State FlowerFoxtail Orchid
Arunachal Pradesh Geography
Arunachal Pradeshshares its national border with Nagaland and Assam to the south, and international border with Bhutan to the west, China to the north, and Burma to the east. The northern part of the state is covered by Himalaya Range. This mountain range actually separates Arunachal Pradesh and Tibet in the east. Apart from the Himalaya Range, the majority of the land is covered by the Patkai hills and the Himalayan foothills. The total area of the state is 83743 sq km.
Climate of Arunachal Pradesh
The weather condition of the state changes with elevation. Upper Himalaya range of the state enjoys a Tundra climate while Middle Himalaya range has a temperate climate. The Sub-Himalaya areas and sea-level areas have sub-tropical and humid summers and mild winters.
Government and Politics
Arunachal Pradesh government involves the functions of a unicameral legislative body. The legislative council is formed of 60 members of the legislative assembly. They are the very center of the government and politics of Arunachal Pradesh. The governor Nirbhay Sharma is the legislative head of the state. The executive of Arunachal Pradesh includes a council of ministry with 11 cabinet ministers apart from the chief minister Nabam Tuki. Various secretariat and directorate wings smoothly carry out the functions of the various government departments. They are also involved in the planning and the execution of various government projects in the state of Arunachal Pradesh.
Economy and Infrastructure
Agriculture is the pillar of the economy of the state. Pulses, rice, wheat, sugarcane, maize, millet, oilseeds, and ginger are the main crops grown here. Since a major part of Arunachal Pradesh is covered by forests, forest products are also important base of the economy. There are a number of fruit preservation departments, rice mills, fruit orchards, handloom handicrafts, and horticulture units in Arunachal Pradesh. Tourism is a missed opportunity in Arunachal Pradesh economy because of unrest in political and social scenario.Arunachal Pradeshis well endowed with an abundant forest cover, mineral, and hydel power resources. The principal crops are rice. Maize, millet, wheat, pulses (edible seeds gathered from pea and bean crops), potatoes, sugarcane, fruit, and oilseeds are also important.
Arunachal Pradesh Administration
Itanagar is the capital and seat of government of the state. There are 16 districts in the state and each division is governed by a district collector. Nirbhay Sharma is the Governor and Nabam Tuki is the Chief Minister of the state.
Society and Culture
Most of the population of Arunachal Pradesh is of Asiatic origin and show physical affinity with the people of Tibet and the Myanmar. There are dozens of tribes and sub tribes, each with a specific geographic distribution. In western Arunachal Pradesh the main tribes are the Nissi (Nishi or Dafla), Sulung, Sherdukpen, Aka, Monpa, Apa Tani, and Hill Miri. The Adi, the largest tribal group in the state, occupy the central region. The Mishmi occupy the northeastern hills, and the Wancho, Nocte, and Tangsa inhabit the southeastern district of Tirap. These tribal groups speak about 50 distinct languages and dialects, belonging mostly to the Tibeto-Burmese branch of the Sino-Tibetan language family. They are often mutually unintelligible and, thus, Assamese, Hindi, and English are used as lingua francas in the region. As a rule, the tribes do not intermarry, and each follows distinct social, cultural, and religious practices.
Tourism of Arunachal Pradesh
Often termed as a natural wonder, the state has a number of popular tourist destinations. Some of the famous places in Arunachal Pradesh are Itanagar, Tawang, Bomdila, Bhismaknagar, and Akashiganga. There are 4 National parks and 7 wildlife sanctuaries in the state, which are the prime attractions for the tourists.
Blessed in abundance in natural beauty the land of the moonlit mountainsArunachal Pradeshhas evolved over the years as a happening tourist destination in India. Places of tourist interest in the state include Bomdila, Tawang and the nearby Buddhist monastery, which happens to be the largest in India. Itanagar is famous for its excavated ruins of the historical Ita Fort, and the attractive Gyaker Sinyi or the Ganga Lake. Malinithan and Bhismaknagar are the two important archaeological sites in the state, and Parashuram Kund is a prominent pilgrimage site. Namdapha Wildlife sanctuary in the Changlang district is home to the rare Hoolock gibbon.
National Parks of Arunachal Pradesh
*.Namdhapa National Park in Miao
*.Mouling National Park in JenggingWild Life Sanctuaries in Arunachal Pradesh
*.Pakhui Wildlife Sanctuary
*.Itanagar Wild life Sanctuary
*.Dr. D. Ering Memorial Wildlife Sanctuary

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat