Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

∆░About Karnataka░∆

Karnataka - Facts
Below is a table representing important facts about Karnataka
Facts on Karnataka
Date of
Formation1 November 1956
Size1,91,791 sq km
RiversKrishna, Tungabhadra, Cauvery, Kabini
Forests &
National ParkBandipur WS, Nagarhole NP, Mudumalai NP
LanguagesKannada, Kodava, Tulu
Neighbours StateMaharashtra, Goa, Kerala,Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu
State AnimalIndian Elephant
State BirdIndian Roller
State TreeSandal
State FlowerLotus
Administration and Government
Karnataka, like the other states in India, has the parliamentary government with 2 constitutionally elected houses. One is the Legislative Council, and the other one is the Legislative Assembly. Legislative Assembly includes 224 members, and they are elected for a period of 5 years. On the other hand, the Legislative Council is considered as the permanent body with 75 members. 25 members retire after every 2 years. The Karnataka government is controlled and led by Chief Minister. The Chief Minister is selected by the governing members of the Legislative Assembly. He or she, together with the assembly of ministers, takes the initiative of the various legislative agenda. In addition, the Chief Minister also takes the main executive decisions. The Governor is the formal and the constitutional head of state. The Governor is chosen for a period of five years by the Indian President on the recommendation of the Union Government.
Karnataka is one of the well-known states in South West India. Originally, it was known as State of Mysore but was renamed Karnataka in the year 1973. Bangalore is the largest city, and also the capital of this state. The state is surrounded by Laccadive Sea and Arabian Sea in the west, Maharashtra in the northern side, Goa in the north-west side and Andhra Pradesh in the eastern side. It is also surrounded by Kerala in south-west and Tamil Nadu, in the south-east side. Karnataka is the 9th largest state in India by population. The state has 30 districts. Kannada is the official and extensively spoken language of this state. Other languages that are spoken in this state are Konkani, Tulu and Hindi.
The history of the state dates back to the hand-axe Paleolithic culture that is proved by the discoveries of cleavers and hand axes in this region. The evidence of Megalithic and Neolithic culture was also found in Karnataka. The gold that was found in Harappa was imported from the mines in this state. It encouraged scholars and researchers to assume contacts between Indus Valley civilization and ancient Karnataka. Before 3rd century BCE, a large part of this state was a part of Nanda Empire. After that, it became a part of the Mauryan Empire. The rule of Satavahana for 4 centuries followed that allowed them in controlling the bigger areas of this state. After the failure of Satavahana, the growth of native kingdoms like Western Gangas and Kadambas followed that marked the emergence of the political entity of this region. Mayurasharma founded Kadamba Dynasty having the capital in Banavasi. In the year 1565, Karnataka and various parts of South India had experienced a geopolitical shift. After India attained independence, Jayachamarajendra Wodeyar, who was a Maharaja, allowed the accession of his kingdom to India. Mysore became the state of India in the year 1950. The industrial visionaries like Mokshagundam Visvesvarayya play a crucial role in the growth and development of the industrial and manufacturing base of Karnataka.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat