Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

∆░About Chhattisgarh░∆

Chhattisgarh Facts
Below is a table representing important facts about Chhattisgarh
Facts on Chhattisgarh
Date of
FormationNov 1, 2000
Size1,36,034 sq km
RiversMahanandi, Indravati, Son, Pairi, Hasdo, Sabri
RiversMahanandi, Indravati, Son, Pairi, Hasdo, Sabri
Forests &
National ParkKankerghati NP, Indravati NP, Kanger Valley NP
LanguagesHindi, Oriya, Marathi, Chhattisgarhi, Gondi, Korku
Neighbours StateMadhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Orissa, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh
State AnimalWild Buffalo
State BirdHill Myna
State TreeSal
Government and Politics
Chhattisgarh& Politics have added some new leaves to the political records in India. Though the bifurcation of the larger state of Madhya Pradesh and the birth of Chhattisgarh was considerably a peaceful process. But the demand for a state to preserve the ethnic identities of the people here itself gave birth to certain new chapters in the history of India. This has made the formation of this new state an important issue for the whole nation. Presently the Executive head of the Chhattisgarh government is Shri E S L Narashiman, the governor. The legislative head is chief minister Dr Raman Singh. The cabinet of ministers under him presently include of Shri Amar Agrawal, Shri Brijmohan Agarwal, Shri Ram Vichar Netam, Shri Ajay Chandrakar, Shri Ganesh Ram Bhagat, Shri Hemchand Yadav and Shri Megharam Sahu.
On November 1, 2000, India gave birth to a new state calledChhattisgarh. The new state is carved out of India's largest state, Madhya Pradeshwhich spreads over an area of 443,000 square kilometers. Though the acquired area of 135,194 square kilometers accounts for only 30 per cent of the total area of Chhattisgarh, the state is still a considerable size, which is equivalent to almost sixteen times the size of Kerala.
The demand for the new state can be traced to a meeting of the Raipur district Congress in 1924 when the idea of a separate entity of Chhattisgarh was mooted. The leaders who took part in that meeting were of the view that the region of Chhattisgarh was culturally and historically distinct from the rest of Madhya Pradesh.
India's latest state has its Capital at Raipur and the High Court at Bilaspur. The Capital may be shifted later to Nandghat, about midway between Raipur and Bilaspur on the banks of the Shivnad River. Bastar, Bilaspur, Dantewara, Dhamtari, Durg, Janjgir, Jashpur, Kanker, Kavardha, Korba, Mahasamund, Raigarh, Raipur, Rajnandgaon, Sarguja and West Sarguja are the sixteen districts of Chhattisgarh.
Of the 320 MLAs in Madhya Pradesh, 90 belong to the districts ofChhattisgarh. They have become the members of the Legislative Assembly of the new state. Chhatisgarh sends 11 members to the Lok Sabha and five members to the Rajya Sabha.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat