Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

∆░Indian State Gujraat░∆

About Gujarat
Gujarat or "the land of the legends" is one of the most important states situated in the western part of the country. Geographically bordered by the vast Arabian Sea and Pakistani province of Sindh on the west, Rajasthanon the north, Maharashtrawith Diu, Dadra, Daman union territories on the south and Madhya Pradesh on the east, Gujarat stand unique in its topographical as well as geographical landscape. Gandhinagar is the capital and Ahmadabad is the most important city in the state.
Government and Politics
There are 26 districts in the state of Gujarat, with Gandhinagar being the political hub. The government of Gujarat has a legislative assembly comprising of 182 members out of which 39 seats are reserved for schedule castes and schedule tribes. Like all other Indian states, the chief minister is the leader of the government as well as the Legislative assembly and has some exclusive executive powers. The governor, elected by the president of India is the head of the state and the speaker, elected by the legislative assembly, presides over the meetings of the Assembly. Post-Independence till the state of Gujarat was separated from the state of Bombay, Indian National Congress were the undisputed leaders of the government and politics of the state. It was in the mid 90's assembly polls that the party lost to BJP, who are still in power in the state. In spite of several political and communal riots in the state, the BJP government has been able to keep its supremacy over the state for the past several years. Narendra Modi is the current chief Minister and Shrimati Kamala Beniwal is the current governor of the state of Gujarat. Interestingly, Modi happens to be the longest surviving CM of the state from 2002 and claims to be undisputed leader of the government and politics of Gujarat since then.
History of Gujarat
The history of Gujarat can be divided into ancient, medieval and modern subcategories. The ancient history can be associated with the Indus Valley Civilization. The first people who had settled in Gujarat were the Gujjars, who were from Afghanistan and Pakistan. Then came the Maurya dynasty when the ruler Chandragupta Maurya and his grandson, King Asoka, established their supremacy over the region. After his death, several dynasties like the Shungas, the Sakas, the maitrakas, the Chawura, the Solankis', and the Baghilah, etc ruled Gujarat before the Muslims invaded the area and ruled there for around 400 years. Starting from Mahmud of Ghazni to Allaudin Khilji to King Akbar, all had conquered Gujarat with valor but soon the Muslims were expelled out by the Maratha king Shivaji. In the 17th century, with the advent of the British the Maratha power was dominated and the state was divided into several princely states like Ahmedabad, Bharuch, Panch Mahals, Kaira, and Surat which were then ruled by them. When India was struggling for Independence, Gujarat became a hub of freedom fighters, all natives from the place. Post-Independence, Gujarat was a part of the Bombay state ruled by Indian National Congress. It was only in 1960 that Bombay state was split into Maharashtra and Gujarat and the state was given a separate identity of its own.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat