Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

kailash mount - Newest pictures Animals/Nature

ॐl|l░Temples of Himalayas░l|lॐ

Location:Mt. Kailash
(Vada Naadu)
Shiva:Kailasa Nathar, Shiva
Patikam: Sambandar, Appar, Sundarar
Travel Base:. Mt. Kailash
Temples of the Himalayas
Description: The towering 22028 ft high peak Mt.Kailash in the Himalayas, 25 miles north of the Mansarovar lake is hailed as the abode of Shiva. Itis an arduous trek to Kailash through the snow clad Himalayas and is attempted only by a few. The Tibetians refer to Kailash as Kangrimpoche (Jewel of Snow). Kailash is also referred to as Hemakootam. This is one of the 4 Tevarastalams in the Himalayas the other three being Gowrikund, Kedarnathand Indraneela Parvatam. Major rivers have their source around the Manasarovar lake and Kailash.
Route to Kailash: Pilgrims go to Kailash via the Lipu Lekh pass. They first go to Tonakpur, then through Pithorgarh, Askot and Dharchula and Garbiang the last town in Indian territory. The Lipu Lekh pass is 16750 feet above sea level, and is at the Tibet frontier. Pilgrims then reach Taklakot, a Budhist center. Manasoravar is 34 miles away from here. 12 miles from Taklakot in Bhutan, is Kocharnath. An alternate route to Mansarovar is via Kathgodam, Karpot, Milon, Tirthapuri and Kailash. Yet another route is from Haridwar via the Niti pass.
The Mansarovar lake is known as Cho Mapan. There are two lakes here; one the rakshasa tal, where Ravana performed penances towards Shiva, and the other theMansarovar, considered to be one of the 51 Sakth Peethams.
Mount Kailash is located 20 miles from Mansarovar; it appears like a giant Shivalingam placed in a 16 petaled lotus. Pilgrims first reach Darchin, and then start their 32 mile pradakshina or circumambulation around the sacred mountain. From Darchin, they proceed to Landifu,then Derfu, and then in a north east direction to Gowrikund 19000 feet above sea level. Gowri Kund in Tibet is known as Thuki Singbu. Then they go to Jandalfu and come back to Darchin. There are several Buddhist temples in this area.
The Nayanmars:Tirunavukkarasar on his way to Kailasam is said to have been transported by divine intervention to Tiruvaiyaru- Dakshina Kailasam. Karaikkal Ammaiyar is said to have trekked to Kailasam and returned to Tiruvalangadu. Sundaramoorthy Nayanar is said to have travelled to Kailasam on a white elephant, while his contemporary Cheraman Perumal Nayanar of Tiruvanjaikkalamcomposed Tirukkayilaya Gnana Ula at Mt. Kailash. Sambandar sang praises of Kailasam from Sree Kalahasti.Kailash is the fifth of the Tevara Stalams hailed by the Tamil hymns of the Nayanmars, located outside of Tamilnadu/Kerala/Karnataka i.e. in Vada Naadu (the northern lands).
Mt. Kailash is regarded by Hindus as an embodiment of Shiva and Parvati. The Buddhists refer to the sacred mountain as Kangri Karchchak; they regard the presiding deity of Mt. Kailash as Deity with three eyes, holding the damaru and the trishul; his consort is referred to as Dorje Fangmo. The Jains regard Mt. Kailash as the Ashtapada mountain where the first Tirtankara Adinath (Rishabhadeva) attained nirvana.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat