Welcome, guest. You are not logged in.
Log in or join for free!
Stay logged in
Forgot login details?

Stay logged in

For free!
Get started!

Text page

px bangladesh divisions english - Newest pictures

Divisions of Bangladesh

Bangladesh is divided into six administrative divisions,[19] each named after their respective divisional headquarters: Barisal,Chittagong, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi , and Sylhet

Divisions are subdivided into administrative units known as zila, or districts. There are 64 districts in Bangladesh, with each district further subdivided into thana, or police stations (formerly called upa-zila or sub-districts). The area within each police station, except for those in metropolitan areas, is divided into several unions, with each union consisting of multiple villages. In the metropolitan areas, police stations are divided into wards, which are further divided into mahallas. There are no elected officials at the divisional, district or thana levels, and the administration is composed only of government officials. Direct elections are held for each union (or ward), electing a chairperson and a number of members. In 1997, a parliamentary act was passed to reserve 3 seats (out of 12) in every union for female candidates.[20]

Dhaka is the capital and largest city of Bangladesh. Other major cities include Chittagong, Khulna, Rajshahi, Barisal and Sylhet. These metropolitan cities have mayoral elections, while other municipalities elect a chairperson. Mayors and chairpersons are elected for a span of five years.

This page:

Help/FAQ | Terms | Imprint
Home People Pictures Videos Sites Blogs Chat